• Welcome to realmuscleforum.com
  • Protein Shakes on a Cut...

Discussion in 'Fat Loss' started by jailynn24hb, Apr 11, 2012.

1. jailynn24hb

jailynn24hb Well-Known Member

Hey guys

So i noticed today each of my ON Whey shakes are 220cals (2 scoops) i have these twice on weight days (3 days a week) and none on cardio days. So per week that 1320 cals on protein shakes. On a cut.

This is my first attempt at fitness, I have done from zero and 12 stone at 5ft8 to easily running over 5k 3 times a week and 10stone 12 currently. However noticing the amount of calories per day on these shakes (440) its the same as a whole meal for me at the moment.

On weight days I have reached my noob gains and cant lift any heavier on my massive deflict, I havent had a lift increase in a month. I also take creatine 5g per day.

So my question is can I limit the calories from my shakes? Is there a low cal version or something? I dont get enough protein in my diet due to cost and time (i work full time) so i need the shakes to hit my target intake on weight days.

Thanks for any info or help, my knowledge on this is made up from advice of friends so I am sure i am missing something...

Thanks !

2. masoven4u

masoven4u Well-Known Member

Protein Shakes on a Cut...

ON has 24g of Protien per scoop = 96 calories - 110 per serving, only 14 calories over the pure protein of the shake.... While everyone will say eat protien instead of drink I think you'd be better off eating protein and then taking a shake after a workout... just my opinion.

3. suighja

suighja Well-Known Member

Last edited by toddmclain02; Today at 11:43 AM. Reason: Math retard... 96 - 110 = 14....

4. baletki

baletki Well-Known Member

so your saying it pretty much couldnt get any lower calories wise? and perhaps just cut down to 1 on workout days? I eat a fair bit of chicken and eggs but not enough to hit protein target, though i dont have any shakes 4/7 days of the week anyway...

5. Korporalegq