• Welcome to realmuscleforum.com
  • Had 2 People approach me in the Gym today, telling me I'm doing things wrong.

Discussion in 'Fat Loss' started by casse, Apr 8, 2012.

1. casse

casse Well-Known Member

I joined a new gym last week, and have been going everyday so far, so I guess a few people might have noticed me. First guy came up to me, and said I should be doing upper/lower body splits. He said because I'm a beginner. I told him I'll look into it. Later in my workout, an older person came up to me, and said I shouldn't be lifting heavy weights. He said its better to do lower weights to feel the stretch. First guy was definitely in good shape, like the cross fit type. Second guy was an older person, but also in relatively good shape.

Here's the thing. I would definitely classify myself as a beginner (been working out for over 10 years, but never more than 3 months consistently). But I've been doing a program called Max-OT, which is based on low reps, and heavy weights. I've been doing this for about 4 weeks now, and I have seen more results than I have ever seen in my life. Not just that, but my strength is going up from week to week, and I'm losing fat too. In this program, I workout 1 muscle group per week.

I'm not sure if my body shape is changing because of new muscle growth, or fat loss, but I'd like to think its a a combination of both right now, since I have been losing 1lb per week.

But what the first guy said, influenced me to the point I am looking up upper/lower body splits, or even push/pull splits. i'm really confused now. should i stick with what i'm doing? or does he have a point?

2. masoven4u

masoven4u Well-Known Member

Had 2 People approach me in the Gym today, telling me I'm doing things wrong.