• Welcome to realmuscleforum.com
  • Two steps forward, three steps back.

Discussion in 'Training' started by herunder88, Mar 6, 2012.

1. herunder88

herunder88 Well-Known Member

Hello.

I've been all over the place - trying to build muscle on a 1000 calorie deficit, using machines exclusively, and all other sorts of idiocy.

After reading Rip's book, I've wised up. I eat 2500-3000 calories a day (Which is the very most I can eat, due to digestive issues) and I'm doing the good ones - squats, deadlifts, etc.
      I've switched from fast food dinners to a pound of chicken. I aim for 180-200g of protein at a minimum.

I'm 31, 6'7, 236lbs with about 19% bodyfat. I started training with a light weight and added 10 to squats, 15 to deadlifts, 5 to everything else.

(I am battling patellofemoral arthritis, but Rip's squat technique so far has been awesome and pain free)

So right now, here's where I am:
      Overhead press: 85 - Hard to progress
      Bench: 100 - Slow, but some progress
      Squats: 110 - Stuck here
      Deadlifts: 190 - So far, piece of cake to progress on.

I do warmup as suggested in SS.

(I know I don't eat 3000-4000 and I don't do powercleans yet, so I know, YNDTP.)

Here's where I think I might be screwing up:
      1) I don't eat enough. Should I force myself to eat even though it's going to make me sick?
      2) I do Muay Thai 2-3x a week, and cycle 30-80 miles a week. Is the cardio work killing my progress?
      3) I rest about 45 seconds between sets before the boredom sets in and I get itchy. Maybe I'm not waiting long enough?

2. druid

druid Well-Known Member

Two steps forward, three steps back.

Correct on all accounts.

If you aren't gaining weight, then you aren't eating enough. Try different foods that don't make you sick? More calorie dense foods? Eating snacks between meals? Find a way to eat more.