• Welcome to realmuscleforum.com
  • Quitting Smoking: Effects on Cardio Performance?

Discussion in 'Fat Loss' started by jailynn24hb, Jul 5, 2012.

1. jailynn24hb

jailynn24hb Well-Known Member

I've been smoking for about 12 years, started when I was 20 in college...the last year or so I have really gotten into cardio, specifically running...obviously, as I am serious about running now, I am feeling more and more every day that the time to quit is here.

Quitting will be an adventure unto itself - but my question is, if I have been running regularly for a while and am in decent cardiovascular shape (able to run several miles without stopping) - will I be able to continue my cardio through the quitting process? I know that the first couple months after quitting the lungs are cleaning themselves out and regenerating, which can cause a lot of phlegm and congestion, and I'm wondering if it will majorly impact my runs...which would suck because the running is one of my, if not my biggest, motivators for quitting, as well as one of my biggest weapons in the battle to quit...

2. defelqy

defelqy Well-Known Member

Quitting Smoking: Effects on Cardio Performance?

I quit at the beginning of the year after smoking for nearly 30. Quitting only affected my cardio in a good way - ie: lung capacity got a helluva lot better as each day passed.
      Never had a situation where I had to stop because I was coughing or anything like that.

Do it. You can't lose.

3. casse

casse Well-Known Member