• Welcome to realmuscleforum.com
  • How long should I bulk?

Discussion in 'Diet & Nutrition' started by krupnijihbc, Jul 25, 2012.

1. krupnijihbc

krupnijihbc Well-Known Member

I searched the forums and the web, but basically everything i found was pertaining to some 140 pound kid.

I'm 22, 5' 9", 180 pounds. I've been lifting for almost 3 months. I was told to bulk, so thats what i've been doing. When i started, i was 175 pounds. Ive been doing about 400 cals over my maintenance a day concentrating on high protein, low fat. I've seen some decent results.

How long should i keep that going before i start a cut? A year? 2 years? I'm not scared of "getting fat" by eating a lot. I just need some answers tailored to my specific weight.

Thanks guys. I hate asking newbie questions, but its better to find out than do it wrong.

2. parnassto

parnassto Well-Known Member

How long should I bulk?

Last edited by jmarlowe29102; Today at 08:22 AM.

3. Raleoxilevz

Raleoxilevz Well-Known Member

How long should I bulk?

Calculate your tdee (caloric maintenance) then add 15% of your maintenance to your tdee to create a surplus....simple as that, you won't gain too much fat with a 15% surplus. You should gain around .75lbs per week
      GL OP!

4. suighja

suighja Well-Known Member

How long should I bulk?

Thats basically what i've done and seen results. I want to know HOW LONG to do that though. When should i do a cut?

5. laxgoaliesrhs

laxgoaliesrhs Well-Known Member

How long should I bulk?

Min 4-5 months to have an effective bulk. 6-8 months would be ideal if you can keep bulking without getting too fat (>15% is too excessive for me).

I'm on a 5 month bulk cycle atm. After that I plan to cut for 4-6 weeks to keep low body fat, then continue to bulk for another 5 months. I've been bulking for 2 months so far with 4-500 surplus, haven't gained much fat. Bf% would have gone from 10% to 11, 12% max. If you keep it clean you can look good for the duration of your bulk.