• Welcome to realmuscleforum.com
  • effects of not eating enough when cutting

Discussion in 'Fat Loss' started by baletki, Apr 1, 2012.

1. baletki

baletki Well-Known Member

i am trying to lower my body fat from 19% so i can start bulking up. i am currently having 1700-200 calories a day and around 160-200g protein. i recently used a calorie maintenance calculator to work out what my maintenance level is and it is 3250. i am new to weightlifting but i train 5 -6 days a week. i am noticing gradual muscle gains over the last few months but no fat loss. someone told me i need to eat around 2700 calories in my cut if my maintenance level is 3250, but does that mean i will lose weight quicker by increasing my calorie intake? 3250 seems alot of calories but then again i am very new to all of this

any advice is appreciated!

2. masoven4u

masoven4u Well-Known Member

effects of not eating enough when cutting

If you aren't losing weight you are eating too much not too little. You are miscalculating your consumption.

3. remstation

remstation Well-Known Member

Increasing your calories isn't going to help you lose fat.. that is absolutely counter-intuitive. With your stats 3250 seems pretty high for maintenance but you should still have a good deficit eating at 1700-2000 a day. Make sure you are accurately counting calories and Keep eating around 1700 cal's a day, maybe throw in some cardio to increase the deficit. You should notice some fat loss relatively soon.

4. Canellesao

Canellesao Well-Known Member

i have calculated the calories from everything i eat and drink during the day though so it cannot be to inaccurate

5. Canellesao

Canellesao Well-Known Member

How long have you been eating at 1700-2000 cal for?

6. jailynn24hb

jailynn24hb Well-Known Member

for 9 weeks. i decided i want to lose some weight so i can bulk up my muscle mass without having so much fat , i changed my diet to 1700-2000 calories and starting lifting weights

7. masoven4u