• Welcome to realmuscleforum.com
  • Champix & other quit-smoking pills - your experiences.

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by remstation, Jun 25, 2012.

1. remstation

remstation Well-Known Member

I really have to quit now, I can't keep going like this. I love a smoke, don't really smoke much these days but know I am heavily addicted to it. My chest is getting tighter every fag, my cardio is practically anaerobic & I am feeling sick.

I know someone is bound to say, just stop you prick, but I have been smoking for nearly 30 years and feel a little help would aid my limited will-power. I heard about a drug called Champix, there is another one too (forget the name) but would like some USER input. I hear it is a serious mental health risk with depression top billing & the odd suicide occurring. I took a year to come off Mertazapine, an antidepressant I used for several years, deliberately with the idea of using an anti-smoking pills course, as I couldn't use both at the same time. Now i've been clear of this drug I want to take the smoking pills.

Can I get your personal feedback please.
      How much is will power still required? (not a silly Q, this drug is meant to block the nicotine receptors)
      How long before it kicks in?
      Depressed on it?
      Other stuff worth noting?

Thanks

2. xenogent

xenogent Well-Known Member

Champix & other quit-smoking pills - your experiences.

I think alot of it has got to do with willpower and wanting to actually give up..i gave up a while ago used patches for the first three days and was fine after that.

Ive also read/heard about chantix/champix and apparently that stuff can nasty..ie hallucinations and what not..have you tried the inhaler, gums or patches..they do say once you break the habbit you are halfway there

Youve also got zyban and tabex not really heard much of them but id go for pills as a last resort my man

3. jailynn24hb

jailynn24hb Well-Known Member