• Welcome to realmuscleforum.com
  • 39 year old doctor (yes a doc!) - Anavar 1st time steriod-user... advice please!

Discussion in 'Anabolic Zone' started by defelqy, Aug 3, 2012.

1. defelqy

defelqy Well-Known Member

Hi guys,

I am 39 years old, 186cm, 85Kg and 18% bf.

I have been working out since age 20, got a good gym routine plus cardio (tennis 3-4x week).

Never used anabolics before, but despite going to gym 4-5 x week and tennis, still want to improve my definition and reduce body fat %. Not looking for massive gains, just improved shape, vascularity and reduce excess fat around abdomen (really hard to shake this off now I am getting older!!).

I am a doctor so am aware of the risks of steroids. My main concerns for side effects are hair loss (I am genetically predisposed to male pattern baldness and have thinning hair that I just keep short with clippers), also worried about libido changes or erection problems (who isn't especially now I am almost 40?!) and, of course, don't want to damage my liver.

I have tried to modify my diet to reduce boy fat. But if I cut too much, I tend to lose some body fat% at expense of muscle bulk. At 18-19% bf, I have a decent amount of muscle but annoyingly no abs definition and feel a bit flabby around the waist area. This is despite aggressive tennis playing 3-4x week. Think it is defo an age thing, noticed this over the last few years.

My diet includes:

Breakfast: Oats or wholemeal toast, plus protein shakes.
      Gym workout 8-9am.
      Protein shake.
      Lunch: Chicken breast, salad, potatoes/veg.
      Cardio: tennis 5-6pm.
      Dinner: Salad, lots of protein and try to keep carbs down.
      Protein shake.

I have tried changing diet a lot, to try to reduce body fat and keep muscle mass... but it is quite a challenge! As I work a lot and my job is stressful, I do drink alcohol, in moderation, so I guess I need to cut this out?